98 Comments

Wait...maybe we're the new twitter?

Expand full comment
author

In other major-crisis-related news, I just told my husband I was going to make some gazpacho, since he just got his tooth/gum fucked with by a dentist, and he said he doesn't like gazpacho. He. Doesn't. Like. Gazpacho. How did I just discover this? Who even stays married anymore, and why?

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

If this is the way we're going out, then I'm running out for some Marlboros and the finest single-malt I can find.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

Maybe that's what it takes to stop 45 from psychotweeting. Whatever it is, I love it, especially at the end of the summer.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

Dearest Abigail - The blue birds I have been using to dispatch my letters to you from the front have all died in a colossal orange shitstorm. I fear I may never see you or the children again. Please tell William Junior I value him as a laborer. Yours ever, William.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

From the washington examiner 8 minutes ago: The crash occurred on Thursday about one hour before a scheduled Social Media Summit at the White House was scheduled to take place. The president intends to discuss alleged bias against certain political ideologies across social media. Twitter and Facebook were not invited.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

MOLLY YOU ARE THE HERO WE NEED

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

It's lunchtime on the west coast too so this is very annoying. Where will I get my snark while eating my sad desk salad??

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I was literally just looking for somewhere to post "thank GOD twitter is down" since I can't... post it to twitter

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I'll forward any missives you may have to my entire contact lists upon request.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I just subscribed to ASK MOLLY https://askmolly.substack.com/?utm_medium=web&utm_campaign=pss . BUT I CAN'T TWEET ABOUT IT

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

If this is it, then I'm running out for Marlboros and the finest single-malt I can find and hunkering down in front of this message board.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I came back 3 hours later because I like this better than Twitter.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

Maybe it’ll stay down forever and we’ll all be freeeeeeeee

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I am 27 years old and I work in tech and I am a snarky woman yet I have never used twitter, like, ever. Hmm.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I'm all stocked up on bourbon, but I'll have to resort to group text for whining and rage!

Expand full comment

how journalists are howling into the void: SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — Twitter says it is investigating a problem with its service . Users across the U.S. and elsewhere are not able to access Twitter.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I WILL POST ANY GIF SOMEONE NEEDS

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

Wait, what? I knew this day was coming. I just didn't think it was going to be today. Better stop for gin on the way home.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

I'm trying not to panic

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

::obsessively refreshes this page::

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2019Liked by Heather Havrilesky

Is it weird that I am literally saving open tabs for when I can tweet them?

Expand full comment

so cold...so alone...rations dwindling...is this the end

Expand full comment

For what's it worth, the Oval Office must be in a blind panic. #Schadenfreude

Expand full comment
author

Also DJTrump today: “A big subject today at the White House Social Media Summit will be the tremendous dishonesty, bias, discrimination, and suppression practiced by certain companies. We will not let them get away with it much longer.”

Expand full comment

I’m getting a keratin treatment right now. Those things take two hours!? How TF am I supposed to seethe with rage about five different things now!?

Expand full comment

OMG, not Reddit! Hahahaha.

Expand full comment

Thank you, Molly, for being our shelter in our...20 minutes of need!

Expand full comment

Looks like Twitter's back.

Expand full comment

I was working and didn't even know it was down until I got a WhatsApp message about it and then saw this in my email. THANK GOD. What if I'd missed the Twitter outage? Then I'd have nothing to talk about on Twitter when it's back up.

Expand full comment

AaronBlake reported: At White House social media summit, Trump complimented his guests for “the crap you think of." So, we missed a lot.

Expand full comment

I'm so sorry, everyone, i didn't know you got an email notification every time I posted and hearted. But not sorry, too. GIFS!

Expand full comment

CNN: A conspiracy theorist, a meme creator and a plagiarist. Those are just some of the eyebrow raising attendees who will descend on the White House on Thursday for an event that will likely become a forum for airing claims of anti-conservative social media bias.

Expand full comment

Does this mean I actually have to work on editing my MS? NOOOO!

Expand full comment